The top three placings in the Hygain Pre-Novice A class could hardly have been closer, with just .4 of a point between them.
Abby Lawrence (Te Puke) and Indy RE only just stole the march on Nick Brooks (Cambridge) on Versace C and Donna Smith (Te Kauwhata) on Balmoral Henton, finishing on 26.2 penalty points.
Brooks and Smith both finished on 26.6, to fill the second and third spots.
The trio were tight from the dressage, which saw Smith on 22.2, Brooks on 22.6 and Lawrence on 23. The showjumping was next, with Lawrence and Smith both going clear and Brooks picking up a rather expensive four faults.
It came down to the cross country – all had zero jump faults, with Brooks the only one without time faults. However, he couldn't catch Lawrence who was eight seconds over time for 3.2 penalties, and Smith 11 seconds over, adding 4.4 penalties to her score.
It was also pretty tight in the Goldpine Pre-Novice D with just 1.4 points between first and third. Caitlin McPherson (Putaruru) and Irish Regihn won the day, just .9 of a point ahead of Steph Fankhauser (Auckland) on Midnight Cappuccino, with Fraser King (Inglewood) on Campion KSNZ in third place.
In the Bateson Horse Floats Pre-Novice B it came down to a snip between Sarah Young (Tokoroa) SS Galaxy just ahead of Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) on Amazing Spy.
Darryll Cole (Waimauku) on Walligator headed home the Farmlands Pre-Novice C ahead of the very busy Donna Smith (Te Kauwhata) on KS Triple 8.

Results (final results – after the dressage, showjumping and cross country phases) -

Hygain Pre-Novice A: Abby Lawrence (Te Puke) Indy RE 26.2 penalty points 1, Nick Brooks (Cambridge) Versace C 26.6 2, Donna Smith (Te Kauwhata) Balmoral Henton 26.6 3, Katharine Gillaly (Woodville) Double J Sunshine 27.8 4, Tayla Mason (Waikanae) Sonidor 31.7 5, Karla Hiestand (Taranaki) Westamour 34.5 6.

Bateson Horse Floats Pre-Novice B: Sarah Young (Tokoroa) SS Galaxy 23.9 1, Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) Amazing Spy 24.3 2, Anne Marie Styles (Papakura) Bohdan 29.5 3, Fiona Boddy (Clevedon) Waimanu Sparkle 31.4 4, Janine Hayde (Tuakau) Brentwood tradition 31.6 5, Ashley McMurtrie (Havelock North) Intersect 32.2 6.

Farmlands Pre-Novice C: Darryll Cole (Waimauku) Walligator 30.9 1, Donna Smith (Te Kauwhata) KS Triple 8 32.6 2, James Jackson (Ngaruawahia) Carlo 36.4 3, Kirsty Smyth (Rotorua) Covent Garden 36.9 4, Susan Le Mesurier (Drury) Lightman 39.7 5, Zephania Steele (Drury) Javari JS 40.1 6.

Goldpine Pre-Novice D: Caitlin McPherson (Putaruru) Irish Regihn 33 1, Steph Fankhauser (Auckland) Midnight Cappuccino 33.9 2, Fraser King (Inglewood) Campion KSNZ 34.4 3, Ashley Calder (Henderson) Sensation 35.7 4, Jo Lynch (Albany) Shelleys Bay 35.7 5, Tayla Mason (Waikanae) Mosaic II 36.5 6.


Date Added: Saturday, 6th April 2013